The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation <a href="">has announced</a> 58 new Truman scholars nationwide. Mya Lee Roberson and Sophie Crane McKibben of Brown’s Class of 2016 will pursue graduate studies in public health.
Mya Lee Roberson

PROVIDENCE, R.I. [Brown University] — Two Brown juniors have received prestigious scholarships from the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation. Mya Lee Roberson and Sophie Crane McKibben of the Class of 2016 were among the 58 new Truman Scholars selected by the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation from 688 applicants nominated by 297 institutions. The foundation honors outstanding college juniors dedicated to careers in public service.

Every year, the foundation awards $30,000 to support students in their junior year who intend to undertake graduate studies and are committed to public service leadership. As a condition of the award, scholars are required to work in public service for two years and must enroll in a graduate school program within four years. With the 58 recipients it just announced, the foundation has made awards to 3,023 students since 1977.

“We are thrilled to have two Truman winners this year,” said Linda Dunleavy, associate dean of the College. “Mya and Sophie represent Brown’s ethos by richly integrating outstanding academic work with a profound commitment to public service. Brown students are a great fit for the Truman because they are known for their dedication to creating positive change in the world.”

Sophie Crane McKibben

Roberson, a public health concentrator from Bangor, Pa., will pursue graduate studies in epidemiology. She wants to further her understanding of cancers and hopes to encourage women from minority groups to seek cancer prevention information.

McKibben, a public health and history concentrator from Ripton, Vt., will pursue graduate studies in public health with a focus on understanding the health impacts of forced migration and trauma. She is involved with numerous student groups on campus including Brown EMS and the Brown Outdoor Leadership Program.

The 2015 Truman Scholars will assemble May 19, 2015, for a leadership development program at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo., and they will receive their awards in a ceremony at the Truman Library in Independence, Mo., on May 24.