<p>The Brown Department of Computer Science, which celebrates its 35 anniversary this year, boasts a highly decorated faculty. Among the faculty honors:</p>

Academy members and fellows of professional societies

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows: Roberto Tamassia, John Savage, Andy van Dam
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences Members: Andy van Dam
  • Association for Computing Machinery Fellows: Tom Dean, Maurice Herlihy, Philip Klein, Franco Preparata, John Savage, Roberto Tamassia Eli Upfal, Andy van Dam, Peter Wegner, Stan Zdonik
  • Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence Fellows: Eugene Charniak, Tom Dean, Michael Littman
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellows: David Laidlaw, Franco Preparata, John Savage, Roberto Tamassia, Eli Upfal, Andy van Dam
  • National Academy of Engineering Members: Maurice Herlihy, Andy van Dam

Awards, fellowships, honorary degrees, and prizes

  • Sloan Research Fellowship: Amy Greenwald, Chad Jenkins, Anna Lysyanskaya, Ben Raphael, Paul Valiant
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers: Chad Jenkins, Amy Greenwald
  • NSF CAREER Award: Ugur Cetintemel, Amy Greenwald, James Hays, Chad Jenkins, Shriram Krishnamurthi, David Laidlaw, Michael Littman, Anna Lysyanskaya, Ben Raphael, Erik Sudderth
  • ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award: Pedro Felzenszwalb
  • ACM EATCS Gödel Prize: Maurice Herlihy
  • Guggenheim Fellowship: John Savage
  • ACM Dijkstra Prize: Maurice Herlihy (twice)
  • IEEE Technical Achievement Award: Pedro Felzenszwalb, Roberto Tamassia
  • IEEE Visualization Technical Achievement Award: David Laidlaw
  • ACM Karlstrom Award: Andy van Dam
  • ACM SIGGRAPJ Coons Award: Andy van Dam
  • IBM Outstanding Innovation Award: Eli Upfal
  • IEEE Mulligan Medal: Andy van Dam
  • IEEE Centennial Medal: Andy van Dam
  • Jefferson Science Fellowship: John Savage
  • Weizmann Levinson Prize: Eli Upfal
  • IEEE Darlington Prize: Franco Preparata
  • IEEE Wallace McDowell Award: Maurice Herlihy
  • ACL Lifetime Achievement Award: Eugene Charniak
  • ACM Milner Award: Shriram Krishnamurthi
  • MIT Technology Review TR-35: Anna Lysyanskaya
  • Honorary Degrees: Sorin Istrail, Franco Preparata, Andy van Dam (four)

(Return to the story)