C.D. Wright, the Israel J. Kapstein Professor of English and professor of literary arts, will deliver the inaugural Presidential Faculty Award Lecture on Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013, at 4:30 p.m. in the John Carter Brown Library. Wright, an award-winning poet and author, will give a talk titled “What Can We Do to Bring the Ship Nearer to its Longing?” The Presidential Faculty Award was established by President Christina Paxson to recognize members of the faculty who are conducting especially important and innovative scholarship and to create an opportunity for recipients to present their work to colleagues in other disciplines. The award is presented each semester. The recipient gives a lecture on his or her research to the Brown community and receives a research stipend of $5,000. Charles Larmore, professor of philosophy, has been named the award recipient for the spring semester 2014.

Read more