Both in groups and individually, scholars from around the University have won prestigious recognitions for their work in recent months.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. [Brown University] — With medals, society fellowships and other honors in fields as diverse as molecular biology and music, Brown faculty have been recognized nationally and locally for their outstanding research, teaching and service. Among such distinctions from the fall through early 2017 were the following honors:

Four Brown University mathematicians have been named  2017 fellows of the American Mathematical Society. Dan Abramovich, professor of mathematics, earned recognition “for contributions to algebraic geometry and service to the mathematical community.” Jeffrey Brock, professor and chair of mathematics and director of the University’s recently launched Data Science Initiative, was recognized “for contributions to Kleinian groups, low-dimensional topology and geometry, and Teichmüller theory.” Yan Guo, professor of applied mathematics, received the honor “for contributions to the mathematical theory of fluids and plasmas.” Richard Evan Schwartz, Chancellor’s Professor of Mathematics, won praise “for contributions to dynamics, geometry and experimental mathematics and for exposition.”

The American Psychological Society recognized Oriel FeldmanHall and Amitai Shenhav, assistant professors of cognitive, linguistic and psychological sciences, with the APS Rising Stars Award, which “recognizes innovative work that has already advanced the field, signaling great potential for continued contributions to psychological science.”

Five Brown faculty members shared in celebrating a 2016 National Jewish Book Award for “Makers of Jewish Modernity: Thinkers, Artists, Leaders and the World They Made,” published by the Princeton University Press. Co-edited by Michael P. Steinberg, Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Music and professor of German studies, the collection of 43 essays by contributors from around the world included four pieces by Brown faculty members: Nathaniel Berman, Rahel Varnhagen Professor of International Affairs, Law and Modern Culture; Maud Mandel, Dean of the College, professor of history and Judaic studies; Nelson Vieira, University Professor and Chair of Portuguese and Brazilian Studies and Professor of Judaic Studies; and Bonnie Honig, Nancy Duke Lewis Professor of Modern Culture and Media and Political Science.

Three Brown education department faculty members were among the 200 scholars nationwide honored by selection for the 2017 RHSU Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings, published by Education Week. The list, which rates education faculty in terms of their influence on public discourse and policy, listed Matthew Kraft, assistant professor of education and of economics; John Papay, assistant professor of education; and Kenneth Wong, Walter and Leonore Annenberg Professor of Education Policy, chair of education, professor of urban studies, professor of international and public affairs, and professor of political science.

Dr. Anthony A. Caldamone, a Brown professor of surgery and of pediatrics and a physician at Rhode Island Hospital, received a Distinguished Contribution Award from the American Urological Association “for significant contributions to academic urology and exemplary humanitarian dedication to pediatric urologic missions in Africa, Asia, the Middle East and South America.”

Dr. Gary Epstein-Lubow, assistant professor of psychiatry and human behavior, of medical science, and of health services, policy and practice, has been selected as a Health and Aging Policy Fellow. Since 2008, the national program directed by Columbia University and funded by the John A. Hartford Foundation has provided fellows with support and training to offer policy solutions to the health challenges of the aging population including the barriers they face in the health care system.

The Women in Cell Biology Committee chose Susan Gerbi, George D. Eggleston Professor of Biochemistry and professor of molecular, cellular biology and biochemistry, for the Sandra K. Masur Senior Leadership Award for her scientific contributions to the understanding of eukaryotic ribosome structure, function, biogenesis and evolution and aspects of DNA replication, as well as her achievements and service in leadership and mentoring. In the award announcement the WICB wrote, “The consensus of supporting letters for her WICB award is that Gerbi is one of the most eminent investigators of eukaryotic chromosome biology of her generation.”

At the American Heart Association’s annual scientific meeting, Dr. Simin Liu, professor of epidemiology, won the Functional Genomics and Translational Biology Mentoring Award. The AHA posted that the award recognizes “an accomplished scientist that goes above and beyond to mentor well-trained and well-rounded individuals with a passion for science.”

Compositions such as Cloud Intimacy earned Wang Lu, assistant professor of music, a spot on New York classical radio station WQXR’s list of Top New Music Moments of 2016. “Wang’s music provides poetic and deeply personal commentary on the whole of modern civilization, meditating with equal gravitas on Tiananmen Square and Tinder,” WQXR’s tribute said. “The results are in turns cheeky and devastating, and the sheer sound of it is utterly her own.”

Kym Moore, associate professor of theatre arts and performance studies, won Director of the Year for “The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry,” and the same show also won Production of the Year at the Law And Order Party Awards — the Dorrys, which honored the region’s best, most interesting art and culture. The awards were presented live on Sept. 27 at Aurora Providence in downtown Providence.

Joan L. Richards, director of the Program in Science and Technology Studies and professor of history, captured the 2016 Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize for excellence in education from the History of Science Society. Announced at the society’s annual meeting in Atlanta, the award is given annually “in recognition of outstanding contributions to the teaching of history of science.”

Warren Simmons, a senior fellow at Brown's Annenberg Institute, was awarded the Americo W. Petrocelli Distinguished Service Award by the College Crusade of Rhode Island for his contributions to the field of college readiness and success. Simmons' contributions to the field “have ensured that more young people are prepared for success after high school, and prepared to contribute to their communities as informed citizens,” said Nick Donohue, president and CEO of the Nellie Mae Education Foundation.

Jay Tang, professor of physics and of engineering, was named a fellow of the American Physical Society. He was recognized for his work in understanding the aggregation of stick-like filamentous viruses as well as his work in understanding how bacteria move and adhere to surfaces.

Rajiv Vohra, Ford Foundation Professor of Economics, has been named a fellow of the Econometric Society. Fellows represent the highest authority of the society, electing its officers, council and new fellows in annual elections conducted in the autumn.

The Optical Society has chosen Rashid Zia, associate professor of engineering and of physics, as a fellow. Zia was recognized “for seminal contributions to the field of nanophotonics, including pioneering work on surface plasmon waveguides, optical-frequency magnetic dipole transitions, and energy–momentum spectroscopy.”